Which of the following is a characteristic of WBCs?

Which of the following is a characteristic of WBCs?

A white blood cell, also known as a leukocyte or white corpuscle, is a cellular component of the blood that lacks hemoglobin, has a nucleus, is capable of motility, and defends the body against infection and disease.

What are the functions of WBC?

Function of White Blood Cells. White blood cells are a part of your immune system that protects your body from infection. These cells circulate through your bloodstream and tissues to respond to injury or illness by attacking any unknown organisms that enter your body.

Which activity is not a function of white blood cells?

Which activity is not a function of white blood cells in response to an invasion of the body by bacteria? speeding transmissions of nerve impulses to detect these bacteria.

Which of the following are not a type of white blood cell WBC )?

Lymphocytes are also known as Micropoliceman. They have a horseshoe-shaped nucleus. Their number increases during bacterial or viral infections. Thus, based on the above information we can conclude that Erythrocytes are not a type of WBC.

What is function of WBCs?

White blood cells are part of the body’s immune system. They help the body fight infection and other diseases. Types of white blood cells are granulocytes (neutrophils, eosinophils, and basophils), monocytes, and lymphocytes (T cells and B cells).

Which of the following are WBCs?

Among your white blood cells are:

  • Monocytes.
  • Lymphocytes.
  • Neutrophils.
  • Basophils.
  • Eosinophils.

What is the function of WBC quizlet?

What are leukocytes primary function? respond to any substance foreign to the body, especially disease-causing agents like bacteria, viruses, and fungi. Responsible for removing foreign material and damaged or dead cells or tissue.

What is true about WBCs?

WBCs are the colourless nucleated amoeboid cells that can squeeze through blood capillaries by a process known as diapedsis. The increase in their number causes leukaemia, a cancer. WBCs are of two types, granulocytes (formed in bone marrow) and agranulocytes (formed in bone marrow and thymus).

Leave a Comment